March 4, 2009

DMB Announced New Album: Big Whiskey and the Groogrux King

The Dave Matthews Band has announced a release date and title for their upcoming 7th studio album earlier last week. The album, their first since 2005, will be titled Big Whiskey and the Groogrux King, and will be released June 2nd, a push back from the anticipated April release date.
Before people go guh?, a little explanation is in order for the title here. It's essentially a reference to departed band member LeRoi Moore, who died from injuries sustained during an ATV accident last summer.
Moore will be highly missed in this next album, although he has been replaced with Jeff Coffin on the saxophone, while Rashawn Ross will pick up the trumpet for the band. There isn't any indication as to what songs will be included here, but the band has announced a summer tour in support of the album. You can see the complete list here.

The Best of What's Around
- Dave Matthew's Band